Wigston Framework Knitters Museum is a Master Hosier’s house with a two story Victorian frameshop in the garden. The house dates from the last years of the seventeenth century and shows signs of various alterations. At the rear is a cobbled yard and a water pump. A two storey workshop extension has been added to the rear of the house.
The brick floor of an earlier frame shop can be seen in the garden; not unusual for this part of Leicestershire, with its long tradition of worsted knitting. The museum is unique, because when the last master hosier, Edgar Carter died in 1952, the workshop was locked and left. Inside on the ground floor were eight hand frames for making gloves, mitts and fancy ribbed tops for golf hose, together with all the moulds and tools associated with each machine.
There is a large garden, well stocked with flowers, shrubs and fruit trees. The
(light refreshments available) and small shop complete the museum
OPEN FOR 2018 FROM SATURDAY 3 MARCH
WIGSTON STREET NAMES INDEX NOW ONLINE ON THE GREATER WIGSTON HISTORICAL SOCIETY WEBSITE